Back East

A few bits of news is all:

1. I’ve put together a version of the video we shot with the students in Vietnam last April. You can watch here:

There’s not much of Bara in there and none at all of me, aside from a few goofy laughs that I wish I was good enough at Soundtrack to remove… The video almost didn’t happen because of the second bit of news:

2. Bara and I have moved to Shanghai. She’s settled in to a 2 year contract with an international school here and I managed to find a job as well, so here we are. I’m preparing a post on Shanghai itself, even though it isn’t really travel so much as living, at this point. There is a lot to learn and a lot to see.

Last week we made it up to Moganshan – a small mountain area near Hangzhou – for some relaxing during the week-long holiday and I really fell for the place. In between hikes straight up the mountain behind the little guesthouse Bara and I found, I was nose buried in Mark Kitto’s China Cuckoo, his account of the rise and fall of That’s Shanghai and his subsequent flight to a graceful and early retirement in the hill country of Moganshan. He and his wife still live there and operate the venerable Moganshan Lodge – heart and hearth of the burgeoning Shanghai Whitey Weekend set.

I went back to Houwu village again this weekend for some solo camping and plan to make it a weekend tradition, as far as I’m able. Here are a few pictures from this weekend’s trip. I think I’ll find the time to write more about it soon. We found a great little guesthouse called Prodigy Base Camp. Prodigy is a beautifully made place, reminiscent of an Alpine lodge in the summertime, and it’s open year round. The people there are great and they make the best wood-fired oven pizza I’ve had in Asia.

I have decided to make a mission for myself by mapping the area trails, using both GPS and more “artisanal” methods. In China, the military owns all the maps available and they are not easily convinced to share their valuable military data… My GPS is on the way from Prague as I write this, and I’m looking into some more “old fashioned” ways of making maps in the mean time.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About themicah

I'm Micah.

Leave a Reply

